Learning without a teacher

A picture in the Quick Start leaflet packed with my tablet identified various holes, switches, symbols and icons. I started with the ON switch, which led to written instructions. I signed on to the Internet and set up a Google account and password.
At the end of that process I saw a screen packed with suggestions about apps, books, music and video that I could buy and download. By then I had a headache, so I stopped for the day. I did write down a few priorities for later. I needed to learn how to get back to the main menu, when to charge the battery, and how to control a keyboard which seemed to mysteriously pop up and disappear.
My next session began with another look at the Quick Start diagram. On either side of the house (home) symbol at the bottom of the screen I saw useful symbols–a backward C with an arrowhead to go back one screen, and a series of rectangles to show all the tasks currently running. I found the battery symbol, a gear icon labeled “settings,” and other stuff at the top. I decided that my first task would be to find a setting to keep the display on long enough for me to respond.
When I turned on the tablet I noticed that the battery was half charged, and made a note to plug it in at the end of this session. Then I started tapping icons, confident that I could go back one screen, go home or go back to a previous task. I learned that the keyboard pops up when I tap a data entry box. The keyboard disappeared when I touched the Enter key, now labeled “next” or “done” or something else. That was enough for the second session.
Starting session 3 with the Quick Start leaflet, I noticed that the vendor has a web site. Getting crafty, I signed on from my big old desktop PC to locate and download any documentation. After registering my tablet (ID, password, model and serial number) I found a 239-page manual, formatted for the tablet screen. That would be useful if I knew how to download and read on the tablet, which I expect to learn from the manual. I spent the rest of my scheduled session figuring out how to print two pages per side, both sides, on standard 8.5 x 11 printer paper. The good news is that the manual has an index as well as a table of contents, and more pictures with labels identifying the holes, switches, symbols and icons.

